skip navigation

2006 Bakken Oilers Win Easton Cup!

08/20/2014, 10:30am CDT
By Adam Maier

After the team's runner-up finish in the North American Pepsi Cup in Fargo, the 2006 Bakken Oilers went undefeated and captured the championship of the Easton Cup in Minneapolis. The 2006 Bakken Oilers dominated the competition with an astounding 84-8 goal differential that included two shutouts by primary goalie Evan Panzer and one shutout by part-time goalie and right winger Prentiss Maier. With Maier in goal for a game, Panzer scored a hat trick while skating at the center position.

The team's 5-0 record in the Easton Cup included two convincing wins over elite Twin Cities program Miracle Gold with scores of 7-3 in pool play and 10-5 in the championship game. The 2006 Bakken Oilers improved over the team's initial tournament with the additions of Darrent Hunt and Sebastian Stone from Manitoba and Brody Dustin from Stillwater, Minnesota.  All three played an important role in the team's success. Brooks Siemens showcased his well-rounded game all weekend winning tournament MVP. Players such as Zach Skarperud and Mason Stenger also played key roles.

In addition to those mentioned, the team roster includes Grant Anderson, Aidan Diehl, Jacob Doell, Jake Elm, Brock Mattson, Dylan McCann, Mackley Morelli and Lucas Schoenborn. The 2006 Bakken Oilers are head coached by former UND Fighting Sioux player Jay Panzer.

The 2006 Bakken Oilers team finished its innagural AAA season with a record of 8-2. The program has high expectations for this team going forward!

Tag(s): 2006 Bakken Blue